Should government build more roads to allow more vehicle owner or improve the network of public transport?

Recently, the phenomenon of building more roads and its corresponding impact has sparked a heated debate. Although contested by many that the matter of reducing private vehicles is highly beneficial, such issue is regarded thoroughly both constructive and positive by a substantial number of individuals. I am inclined to believe improving public transit can be a plus, and I will elaborate that throughout this essay.

From a social standpoint, the role of governments in constructing more roads can provide the society with some noticeable effects which are rooted in the fact that the merits of reducing traffic congestion, as well as depleting car accidents, are inextricably bound up. According to my own experience, when I was a university student, I performed an academic experiment which discovered the relationship between the number of public transport passengers and car drivers. Thus, beneficial ramifications of both building more roads and easing the vehicular traffic apparently can be seen.

Within the realm of science, upgrading the public transport network might increase the consequences of favoring car owners. Moreover, the fundamental aspects of improving traffic infrastructures could relate to this reality that the demerits of deficient public buses pertain to air pollution. As a tangible example, some scientific research undertaken by a highly prestigious university has asserted that the downside of using old public buses is correlated negatively with greenhouse gas emissions and dysfunctional public transit. Hence, it is correct to presume the preconceived notion of improving public networks.

To conclude, while there are several compelling arguments on both sides, I firmly believe the benefits of improving public transport far outweigh its drawbacks. Not only do the advantages of road accidents prove the significance of building safer roads but also pinpoint environmental implications.