In some countries around the world, voting is compulsory. Do you agree with the idea of compulsory voting?

As literacy rate is increasing democracy is emerging all over the world in several countries. Some countries have made voting compulsory whereas in some countries it is still a choice. This essay will discuss how compulsory voting is pertinent for a nation to grow.

To begin with, elected members are answerable to people who voted for them. This makes members to make decisions or policy which are in the interests of people of his constituency at least which ultimately is for the betterment of common people. For example, making a sound policy for education will be beneficial for people who are illiterate or needs guidance for their children. Thus, voting for correct candidate will be useful for the society in general.

Secondly, compulsory voting leads to flourish of ideologies. Voting for a particular candidate will be based on what are the ideas of that person and common people have a reason to think what benefits them. For instance, a progressive person will try to vote for the candidate or a political party who have ideologies close to him. Therefore, ideologies will not die as people will see the change which they wish for.

In conclusion, making each citizen will encourage them as elected representatives have to convince them of their policies and at the same time ideologies will flourish. In my opinion, compulsory voting is beneficial for any country to grow.