Some people believe law changes human behaviour. Do you agree/disagree?

Recent days, there has been a colossal upsurge in the trends to see prodigies discussing the impact of law on human behaviour. While many progressively adore the ideology that law can change human behaviour, others despise it. This essay will prudently persuade how the law fails to alter people nature.

To commence with, the fear of punishment acts as a deterrent for many. More specifically, most people who wish to disobey law cannot do so because they have a fear of being punished and in long run, obeying rules become the part of their nature. In India, for example, earlier people used to refrain from following traffic signals, however, owing to the strict rules and fines, people nowadays, are abiding by these rules. Seen in this light, although, initially people abide by these laws due to their fear of punishments, gradually, it becomes their habit.

Despite the arguments above, government policies, sometimes, fail to encourage people to accept them by heart. In other words, because most citizens only follow them to evade from being caught, whenever, they get a chance and they are sure of not being caught, they break these rules. To illustrate, in many small towns in India, where the police are not very strict, people do not wear helmets, despite the law which enforces people to put on a helmet while driving two-wheelers. Thus, consistent with this line of thinking, although laws are in place for dwellers, they mostly do not accept them and believe in them.

In conclusion, there is ample evidence that only defining the laws does not change human behaviour. Consequently, I would recommend that government should run campaigns to aware the people about their benefits in following the laws.