Some people point that experiential learning (i.e. learning by doing it) can work well in formal education. However, others think the traditional form of teaching is the best. Do you think experiential learning can work well in high schools or colleges?

Nowadays, most educational institutes are focusing on practical learning. Some people believe that learning by doing practice is more effective than conventional teaching methods while others think otherwise. This essay will discuss how experiental learning is better than traditional method.

To begin with, studying theory without practical is not effective in understanding the concepts. For the same reason, in subjects such as physics, chemistry and biology laboratory work is mandatory to understand the theories studied. For instance, understanding the use of vernier caliper is not helpful while studying theory only. Students get better understanding when they are made to use it in the school laboratory, hence improving their concepts.

Secondly, practical work is beneficial in improving the concepts. Concepts are enhanced when students see the implementation of the theories they studied in their institutes. For example, dissection of frog in biology class gets a better idea of the anatomy that is studied in the class. Several other concepts of students are improved by performing the task themselves which proves that experiential learning is more effective.

To conclude, learning by experience plays a vital role in enhanced understanding of concepts.In my opinion, experiental learning is much better when compared with traditional learning in formal education.