Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime, a term which in itself signifies many immoral and heinous acts, and deem as a blot for the civilized nation and society. However, some hold the view that crime can be curtailed effectively by longer prison sentence, while others are against it. Now, I am going to deliberate my views over this statement.

To begin with, every crime needs a specific punishment, which induces a fear in the mind of culprits, therefore prison sentence can be proved viable on account of plethora reasons. Firstly, it makes a criminal to repent for the brutal acts, as a result sometimes it can help some criminals in changing themselves whereby they can later lead a happy life, as crime is the result of uncontrolled situations. On the top of that, this sentence is imperative in making people to be not indulged in any immoral activity, by taking any law lax manner.

On the other hand, latter view can be supported by taking manifold points into consideration. Firstly, prison sentence for minor incident can be proved as an injustice and unfair because punishment should be decide as per the intensity of a crime. Furthermore, a prison sentence may even become a cause of life obliteration, which is an erroneous. In addition, restriction on the movement of people, who unfortunately bog down themselves in crime related activities can be proved better, as one may become sensible and aware about the aftermath of committing crime. Moreover, here government can play a vital role by awaring people regarding the outcomes of crime which in turn can result dramatic decline in crime rate.

In conclusion, I concede that there should not be any leniency over the matter of crime, as it destroys an ambience of society.