Some people think law changes our behaviour. Discuss.

The crime rates are skyrocketing day by day compelling the authority to legislate concrete laws to control our behavior. Indeed these impeccable rules control our practices but not always. In this essay, I shall discuss this issue in details.

To begin with, it is believed that law changes our habits as it enforces us to abide them. The people who break law, are most likely to be penalized from free community services to lifetime imprisonment. This punishment varies from country to country and their cultures. For example, strict traffic laws for speeding and traffic lights have impelled public to drive cautiously and under the speed limit. This has definitely reduced many minor or fatal road accidents. Thus, it has discouraged people to involve in any activities that may pose threat to others.

However, it is not always true. The person who is released after finishing their imprisonment can't be guaranteed that they will not commit next crime. We have seen many people who had committed the first offense are more likely to engage in the law-breaking activities as they might struggle to settle in a society. Thus, the law might not change our behavior rather it compels to involve in criminal activities.

To sum up, this essay discusses how the legislation can change our habit which is positive at sometimes but not always. Therefore, it is recommended to seek for a right balance to keep peace and harmony among people.