Some people think that teachers should be responsible for teaching students to judge what is right and wrong so that they can behave well. Others say that teachers should only teach students academic subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over the past few decades, there has been a colossal upsurge on the fact that it is the responsibility of the teachers to teach the students judge what is right and what is wrong so that they can behave well. Some others still believe that their responsibility should be confined with teaching academic subjects. In this essay, I will be scrutinizing this topic discussing about both arguments.

The average span of an individual as a student spreads over close to 20 years. This is the period in which he develops his character and his view towards the society. This phase of life will define how an individual should be in the rest of his life. This proves the fact that school is considered as a second home. It is a place where the students learn to socialize, help each other, be responsible towards themselves and towards the society. The recent study conducted by The Deccan Chronicle shows that most of the good characteristics that individuals possess are developed with in their age of 20 years. During this period an individual spends most of the time in his school. Schools are not just for academics and teachers are not just for teaching academic subjects. They are the ones who in-plant moral values to the students. Nowadays, most of the schools have moral values taught to the students by their teachers as a part of their curriculum.

While there is a plethora of reasons that stand hand to hand with the fact that teachers are not just for teaching academic subjects, there are some different opinions too. Some people argue that since 70 percent of the character of an individual is developed during the time when they are in their mother's womb, the role of teacher in developing their behavior is of negligible importance.

While there are arguments on both sides, from a social standpoint I am inclined to believe that teachers play a major role in teaching the students to judge what is right and wrong so that they can behave well.