Television serves many functions. Watching TV makes us relax. We can learn knowledge and information from TV programs. Besides, TV can also be seen as a companion. To what extent do you agree with this?

Several life changing things were invented in the last century. TV was one of them and according to some people, TV can help us in relaxing and at the same time we can gain knowledge and information from it. This essay will discuss how this notion is incorrect.

To begin with, we can learn from several other inventions now. With the advancement in IT field, especially invention of computers and internet every kind of information has become easily accessible. For example, by searching on search engines such as google, we can get information about anything in seconds. Therefore, TV is not the best source of knowledge in this time.

Secondly, the best companionship can be found only once we interact with the humans. As it is said the human is a social animal which means that he needs to be engaged in social activities in order to enjoy and satisfy himself. For example, according to a survey by American Institue of Psychology, the most satisfied people were the ones who were more socially active rather than people who were involved in indoor activities such as watching TV or playing video games. Clearly, this indicates that TV is not helpful enough for mental peace.

In conclusion, there are many other sources to get information and keeping calm instead of watching TV. In my opinion, we need to replace the use of TV in our lives to live a healthy life.