Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes, is one of the most widely-used drugs in the sorld. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long term health costs are high – for smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity.

Do governments have a legitimate role to legislate to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their decisions to smoke, or are such decisions up to the individual?

Tobacco is a major drug product in the form of cigarettes. People are continuing to consume it despite the warning that smoking is injurious to health. This is a teething problem particularly for youngsters and homeless people. The government has a profound role to tackle this problem and I believe there are a number of ways to solve this problem.

Firstly, the government needs to be more active in providing quality education for school goers to educate about the risk of cigarette smoking and its effect on one's health. Secondly, the government can implement a hefty tax on its purchase and manufacturing companies to limit the manufacturing and selling to the public. Thirdly, the government can ask both public and private organizations to advertise against the use of tobacco related products and encourage people to quit it by setting up an accessible way to refrain from its use.

Nevertheless, the parents and guardians can also play role models to monitor their children's activity, guide and support them as necessary by educating them about the risk of smoking. Most often, youngsters are directly or indirectly instils the behaviour from their immediate friends and families, hence, youngsters need to be closely supervised by their parents.

To put into an end, smoking is very harmful to health which can reduce the life expectancy of one's life, Therefore, the government has to intervene effectively and appropriately to control its manufacturing, distribution and its uses specially targetting young people who are vulnerable.