Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes, is one of the most widely-used drugs in the world. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long-term health costs are high for smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity. Do government have a legitimate role to legislate to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their own decisions to smoke, or are such decisions up to the individual?

Many people are using tobacco in many forms, especially cigarettes. Cigarettes have been the most widely-used drugs in the world. The growing number of smokers have caused long-term health costs and lost productivity. This essay will argue that government should take steps to restrict people making a decision to smoke freely.

One strong argument would be that it will increase health care cost for government. A smoker, smoking freely without any conditions can harm their health and also the people who are around them. This will increase cancer and cardio related diseases and eventually contributes long-term health cost for the wider community. The government has better area to spend money on like education, health, and other public services rather than pouring citizen's money on the smoker and drug user people's health. Therefore, the government should introduce some law to discourage smokers.

Additionally, usage of drugs can contribute increased crime rate. If a decision of smoking is left to the individual one then the number of young people who smoke will increase significantly because teenage are always curious to explore new things. This will leads to trying other forms of tobacco and even serious drugs which are enough to ruin society discipline, lost productivity and encourage them to engage in a crime. This is how young people can damage society if no further step is taken to prevent on individual decision to smoke.

To sum up, this essay mentions that how freedom of taking drugs can increase long-term health care cost and damage society. Overall, the government should introduce certain restrictions in the usage of drugs.