Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes is one of the most widely used drugs in the world. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long-term health costs are high- for the smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity.Do Governments have a legitimate role to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their own decisions to smoke, or are such decisions up to an individual?”

In a rapidly changing world and era, there is an upward trend and significant tendency towards smoking tobacco. While there are certainly valid arguments regarding its negative consequences, it arises a question about what actions governments can be done in this regard. Therefore, in this essay, the primary reasons associated with this will be argued and focused on.

To commence with, a variety of reasons can be offered to explain why authorities play a crucial role to address this major problem. Foremost among these, I believe is being able to imposing much stricter laws in order to prevent individuals to smoke. Introducing new laws, to cite an example, perceived as being a preventative measure which would be able to control people’s temptation substantially. Hence, this makes it clear that why the role of governments is inevitably significant.

Further, another contributing factor is that importing such harmful products can be monitored and administrated by officials so that it is proved that this leads to curtailing respiratory diseases. Moreover, being exposed to tobacco, the respiratory systems of every member of the public as passive smokers are at risk of a lot of fatal diseases as lung cancer, heart diseases, and etcetera; nevertheless, people’s awareness rise by the mass media to a great extent. Thus, it can be said that the responsibility of these kinds of behaviors in societies should be controlled via both sides.

To recapitulate, I once again reaffirm my sentiment that not only are administration responsible for preventing and avoiding the negative consequence of smoking in societies but also when governments are accompanied by individuals this can have a positive impact on societies in terms of reducing the number of health hazards and other negative aspects.