An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia — the scent of lavender flowers — has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this passage, the author recommends trying with lavender-scented pillow to treat with chronic insomnia because of the tested effectiveness. To support his/her claim, the author cites a process of pillows trial for 30 volunteers in a controlled lab environment. Quite reasonable though the conclusion about efficacy of pillows appears at first glance, a closer scrutiny reveals that such conclusion lacks crucial supports and therefore we need more evidence to help evaluate such conclusion.

To start off, we need evidence to verify how previous sleeping status of those 30 volunteers mentioned in the passage . While it is shown that they seems to have better an longer sleep in the end of experiment, no evidence serves to rule out the probability that they have improved their overall sleeping status compared with before. Thus, additional evidence gains great significance to determine whether both sleeping duration and quality have been ameliorated based on statistics of their previous sleeping status. If new information shows they acquire both higher quality and duration after the treatment, it is reasonably safe to claim that such treatment via pillow is effective and his/her claim will be strengthened. On the contrary, if new evidence discloses that they keep the same status, his/her reasoning will be weakened.

Furthermore, we need more evidence to ascertain whether pillow serves to treatment purpose of insomnia. First of all, while the fact that all of respondents seems to have better rest is encouraging, we wonder if 30 responders are sufficient samples, which lend great support/credibility to the author's statement with a compelling degree of such treatment. If majority of insomnia researches investigates with more than 30 typical samples, the effectiveness of the aforementioned treatment is in great doubt, his/her claim will be rendered much less advisable. Second, we need more information to check responders' improvement during third week. If it turns out that such improvements are caused by their tired status in the second week rather than hypnotic effect by pillow, we are unconvinced of the author's conclusion as well.

Last but not least, despite the fact that pillow's efficacy could be confirmed based on evidence given above, a more accurate evaluation of the author's recommendation requires further analysis. Specific evidence is needed to decide whether pillows could contribute to more common sleeping circumstances rather than well-designed lab environment; that is to say, whether people could enjoy better sleeping during their own bedroom or dorm of universities. If the answer is positive, his/her claim will be strengthened. On the contrary, if majority of people suffering chronic insomnia can't easily fall into deep rest using such pillows, we are reluctant to believe that the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

In summary, the evidence cited by the author in the argument could not provide sufficiently conclusive information to make his/her claim much more compelling. As a result, we need more evidence to help evaluate such conclusion.