Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo from the advertising director is not a strong argument because of the assumptions made and less evidence provided. More questions are raised on the argument. Although, spending more money on advertising can prove better for the production company but the director should take a few things into consideration as well before reaching on a conclusion.

Firstly, the assumption made here that the problem lies with less advertisement of Super Screen- produced movies and not the quality of those movies. Clearly, the advertising director has not followed through properly like why fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies last year? What is the percentage of the positive reviewers who have appreciated the film. Subsequently, no evidence is provided for the what type of reviews received. It can be possible that the positive reviews were not regarding the quality of the movie.

Consequently, by how much factor has the number of positive reviews increased last year. Also no information has been provided on what basis the data for the percentage of positive reviewers was generated. Whether a survey was done or not. What was number of people on whom the survey was done. Maybe the survey was done on the people who haven't watched the movie themselves. The lack of evidence provided has questioned the accuracy of the survey as well.

Therefore, I would like to conclude that the argument is flawed and weak. Lack of evidence provided and a large number of questions that hasn't been answered has made the argument unconvincing and unreasonable.