In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patro

The Prunty County failed their effort to decrease the number of traffice accients by the means of lower down the speed limit from 55 to 45 mph on highways, with the observation of highway patrol that there are still many drivers driving faster than the limitation. The author suggests that the measure taken by Butler County is efficient in declining the traffice accicdents, that is widening the lane and other improvements of highways. There are still some questions before making descision of bringing the implements of Butler County into The Prunty County.

First of all, there are no statistics of traffic accidents in Prunty County, which can show us the relativity between the limitation of speed on highways and traffic accents. Because there is other possiblity of the reasons of these accidents which weren't caused by the speed limit. As DUI or drugs, they are all serious crimes on highway which may casue serious accidents by the drunk drviers. What's more, the author also doesn't metion the accident place, anther important infomaion. Becasuse the traffic accisents could happen everywhere, as in the city there is a high possiblity of crashing by cars.

Besides the data of the accidents,the author also doesn't show us the conditions of the two counties.Without the reference of the two counties, we cannot make judgement neither the reason of the unabated number of traffic accidents in Prunty County nor the possbility of taking the same measures of the Butler County in the Prunty County.

As we do not know the portion of the highways in all roads of the Prunty County, we cannot make further judgement of the highway traffic accicents influence on the county, there is a possible means that the county has a very short of highway compared with city road which means that the County should concerntrate more on the city road accidents.

On the other hand , with no more information of the Butler County, there is no obvious evidence can prove whether these measurements are suitable for the Prunty County. Maybe the Butler county is full of city road , the high way of the Butler county takes trivial portion of all the roads, likewise.

In conclusion ,the author does not make an exhasutive survey on both of the two counties, that makes there is no obvious relevance between the two counties, before making futher advice, the author need to find out the main cause of those traffic accidents in the Prunty County and research more data of the Butler County.