The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author's claim that restrictions on the development on the existing farmlands will increase housing prices in the county lacks proper evidences to agree with. No proper relation is evinced between the statement made and the bolstering points for the comparisons between itself and Maple County and Pine County. Hence, without proper proofs the conclusion seems unjustified.

Firstly, author is stating that the proposed measure that would prevent the development of the farmland due to its over development. The author is not stating that what are the measures the over development is accounted and on what gist it is debating the measure to prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. Further the development of farmland has no relations on the housing price of the county. Without proper relation drawn, the conclusion what author is claiming cannot be accepted. This is the biggest loop hole which definitely has to be addressed.

Secondly, the author is making a comparison that the Chestnut Country which had adopted the same kind of restriction has not made augmentation in housing prices. It may be likely that the population scale of Chestnut County is much smaller than Maple County and many people from Chestnut County migrate to other places because of job and other things, and thus making the population statistics less in that county. This might be making the housing price remain modest over past ten years. Here too, without proper measures on the population and the size of the counties, the conclusions cannot be accepted.

Again the author is making one more comparison with the Pine County regarding the housing prices. Here also the same points which was mentioned in the previous paragraph can be counted to argue. The population measure is not stated by the author to compare. It can be likely that the Pine County has more immigrants and itineraries every year making the housing prices aggrandize. The comparisons should be supported with much more evidences to draw the conclusion. Hence, the author's claim cannot be accepted.

Thus, in total, the author's claims, concerns though looked proper in the beginning, the argument is inherently flawed. The comaprisons mad lacks proper evidences. No proper relations between the proposed statements can be noted. Still greater and deeper study has to made before concluding and proposing the measure.