The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting

The argument states that Maple County will get overdeveloped and to prevent examples of other two county has been given. Moreover, the council conjectures that the measure will lead to increase in housing prices. At first glance, the recommendation seems to be very convincing. But on close scrutiny it is found that many important factors are ignored by the author. Also, there are several loopholes in the argument.

Firstly, the arguer states that county is becoming overdeveloped. Thus, there should be no more development in the farmland of the county. But, no report or facts have been presented in the report to confirm the validity of the concern stated in the argument. Maybe this issue is not very serious and no extreme measures are required to be taken. The author of the letter should come up with some survey and statistical report so that severity of the issue becomes known. Therefore, there is no need to stop the development in the county.

Secondly, the proponents and opponents of the proposal are considering two counties. There is no evidence provided in the report that any of these county are similar in characteristics with the Maple County. So, looking at the price variations in mentioned two counties do not support the argument. The arguer should show some evidence regarding the sameness in these counties and thereby, make up mind towards increase or decrease of the of housing price of the Maple county.

Lastly, let us say that the two counties are similar to the Maple County but, the change in housing prices of Chestnut and Pine County are considered about 10 and 15 years ago respectively. The gap in time is large and thus, no conclusion can be drawn using reports from these counties. During this time gap there are many factors that may get changed such as economic factors, market condition also, the people' inclination toward purchasing new house. Thereby, making this point in the argument inconsequential.

To sum up, the aforementioned reasons should be considered by the council of the Maple County. There are many factors that needed to be addressed by the arguer. Before jumping to the conclusion impetuously all factors should be discerned and then decision should be made.