The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given argument is full of lack of evidences and precise statistics. Some of the evidences used are correct but we cannot depend only on them to draw a conclusion. All causes behind a particular consequence are not stated, thus conclusion derived is fallible. Due to the use of words like "many", "most", etc it is difficult to make comparisions between these two schools. Other factors besides soliving homework like iq of students of two schools, skillset which teachers possess to assure a quality teaching to students, quality of assignments provided, type of individual assignments provided, etcetera are some of points which author fails to notice before drawing a conclusion.

In the given argument, there is no measure between the population of bothe teachers and students of the two schools. The number of teachers who reported giving assignments given to students is not comparable. Also the number of students who solve the assignments are not provided precisely. An appropiate ratio or percentages of both students and teachers might help to get a clear picture of comparison. Therefore, the arugument is fallible in the first place itself by not providing exact statistics of the population of students and teachers.

Then author tells a comparison between grades obtained by students. Even if number of assignments solved by the students is one of the many factors which are considered to predict the grades of students, it is not the only one. Other major causes for performing better in examinations like IQ of students, quality of teaching, quality of assignemnts, etcetera are not mentioned. Therefore, the argument needs more such evidences study before making a conclusion.

The author tells the effect of getting a better grade to be less chances that a student will repeat a school year. However, repeating a school year does not depend only on how well a student performs in an exam but many more. Causes like physical inferiority of a student, skillsets like leadership, self-confidence, etcetera also hold the effect of repetition of a school year in student's school life. Thus, the effect is not examined in detail to explore other major causes.

The author states that students at Marlee get more time to solve individual assignments but has not stated whether these individual assignments are regarding academics