The following appeared as a letter to the editor of a national newspaper."Your recent article on corporate downsizing* in Elthyria maintains that the majority of competent workers who have lost jobs as a result of downsizing face serious economic hardship

In this letter, the author argued that he does not agree with the idea of the editor who wrote an aticle recently, showed that corporate downsizing in Elthyria could not handle with the problem that there are still a majority of competent workers who losted jobs as the result of downsizing had to face a sreious economic hardship before getting a new job, which took years. In order to undermine the idea of the editor, the author shows us another phenomenon. That is from the recent report on the Elthyrian economy, we can see that there are far more jobs created than have been eliminate since 1999.which brought the unemployment rate to its lowest level in decades. Also, two-thirds newly created jobs salaries tend be paid above average wages, mean while most of the people in Elthyria are full-time workers. It seems the atuhor's evidence are compelling while every of them should be reexamined carefully ,because there are some loopholes in the letter.

To begin with, the two authors' statements may discuss different group of people, that is the most unconvincing point of this letter to the editor.Firstly, from one hand, the editor told us there are still lost of people out of work and suffered from the tough life or had tough times before getting jobs, while the atuhor told us there are more workers employed than eliminated. In this conditon, maybe the editor from the newspaper was inciting the case of the old competent workers who had worked for decades, but the author of the letter is showing us the working condtions of newly employeed wokers who had just wokred for several years. In this way ,the two statements both make sense, moreover, as to the author of the editor of the national newspaper, I fully comprehend him because he is a kind-hearted man who take care of the people in needy situation.But the author of this letter should make clear whtether there are realy this group of people who had to face serious economic hardship before getting jobs again.

In addtion, there is another point that maybe misunderstood by the author. Given that a recent report shows that more workers are employed than eliminated, maybe the employed workers are all young people while the old competent workers have not work to do, even if they have skills, due to the development of technology, the factories do not need them with the skills anymore. Moreove, two-thrids of the workers' salarie are above the average wages. This is a vague data in that we do not know where does this average wages mean, or to be specific, if this is a national average wages, it is noe compelling to show us the real situations of the local wokers which may vary. Also, even if they are full time workers mostly, may be they are still young workers while not the editor of the newspaper mentioned, the old ones possibly.

To mitigate all the worries and concerns about the workes in Elthyria and also evaluate the reall effect of the corporate downsizing, the author should make a wide survey.