The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacter

In the memo, the director of a large group of hospitals concludes that the hospitals should fill all hand-washing stations with UltraClean hand soap instead of their current liquid hand soap since using this hand soap results in fewer cases of patients infected in one of the hospitals in their groups, and also this new hand soap produces a 40 percent reduction in deleterious bacteria than the current hand soap they use. Nonetheless, while the conclusion drawn by the director might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the author must provide the following three pieces of evidence.

First of all, it is probable that the fewer cases of infection at Worktown hospital, the hospital that currently uses UltraClean hand soap, coincides with other factors. For instance, it is possible that hospital nurses, doctors, or visitors pay more attention to hygienic matters than other branches. , If the director wants to make this pronounced change in all hospitals, he must test it at at least two more hospitals and then make the final decision. If this scenario has merit, then the director's assertion that this new soap is better than the old one due to a reduction in patients' infection in Worktown hospital is significantly hampered.

Secondly, the director provides no evidence regarding the price of the new hand soap. The cost of this new hand soap might be notably greater than the regular hand soap they use currently. If the price gap between these two hand soaps is noticeable so the director must not make his final decision without considering the expenses that this change might impose on the system. The unaffordable price of this new hand soap might result in the bankruptcy of the hospitals. The writer's argument does not hold water if the above is true.

Finally, the director did not make any difference between doctors, nurses, and visitors. Each of these groups visits patients on various basis. For instance, nurses might visit patients more than twice a day, a visitor might visit the patients once a week, and doctors may see them every two days. Consequently, those people who visit patients more frequently, in this case, the nurses, should only use this new liquid, not all the doctors and visitors. So, the director must provide evidence concerning the impact of the frequency of visitors on patient infection. If it is true that the only persons having the most contact with the patients are more likely to transmit any kind of infection to the patients, the credibility of the writer's claim decreases substantially.

To recapitulate, it is possible that equipping all the hand-washing stations at all the hospitals in this system results in a decrease in patients infection. Nevertheless, as it stands now, it relies on three groundless assumptions that render its conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Therefore, the author has to provide additional evidence on three fronts: other factors might that be contributed to the result gained from the Worktown hospital, the affordability of this new hand soap, and the effect of the number of times that people visit the patients on patients susceptibility to get infected.