The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago, Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog has some of its largest stores in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

The marketing director of Top pet Stores recommends that they should start advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. To justify the recommendation, the author cites the following facts. Advertising in this magazine during five years ago increases the sales of Fish Emporium by 15 percent, so this advertising can useful for Top pet Stores. In addition, people sales more fishes, so they like to have a dog as a pet. Scrutiny, each of these factors, however, reveals that none of them lend credible supports to the recommendation.

First, relies on the fact the advertising in the Exotic Pets Monthly was effective in sales of Fish Emporium, the author infers this approach will be useful for Doge Pet store. Nevertheless, it is not necessarily the case. In fact, increasing sales in Fish Emporium was due to others factors such as low price or even hire the experienced employees. Really, Exotic Pets Monthly may provide had offered the free transferring service. Without considering this possible scenario, the author cannot justifiably conclude that increasing sales were due to advertising in the magazine.

Second, the author claims that increasing the sales of fish shows people like to buy the dog as a pet. Nonetheless, it is entirely possible people do not like to have a dog at home because maintaining them at home is costly and cumbersome. Hence, since the author provides no information that shows people favor to have a dog; I cannot take the author conclusion seriously.

Second, the author mentions that advertising in the magazine was effective during five yeas ago, while there is no a warranty advertising in this magazine is useful now. Really, it is possible the scenario is different now, and the magazine hires new inexperienced employees and uses different methods for advertising, which are not effective as much as old approaches. In addition, this magazine may be the only way of advertising in this city during five years ago, while there are now many newspapers, television channels, or websites, which are more effective than magazines.

In sum, the argument is flawed logically and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the argument, the author must provide all possible factors that increased the sales of Fish Emporium. In order to evaluate better the recommendation, we know more about peoples’ interested, and condition of city during five years ago.