The following appeared in a memo from the mayor of Brindleburg to the city council."Two years ago, the town of Seaside Vista opened a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. Since then, the Seaside Vista Tourism Board has reported a 20% increase in vi

The memo from mayor of Brindleburg to the city council suggests building a golf course and resort hotel similar to that of Seaside vista city. It assumes that this will increase tax revenue. The Mayor mentioned several arguments for supporting this prediction. However, the arguments which support the recommendation are themselves flawed.

To begin with, author mentioned that since the inauguration of golf course there is a 20% increase in number of people who visit city of Seaside Vista. It is implicitly assumed here that the main reason for increment in visitors is only because of new golf course and resort. But no significant information about the fact being true is mentioned. An insight on why these people visit the Seaside Vista city could have been very helpful for drawing conclusions. There can be numerous reasons for people to visit the city. They can come to vista city for business purpose only, as it is mentioned that new business loans application have significantly increased. So these people involved in setting up a new business do not have much concern or leisure time for recreational activities. The content on the Seaside Vista in memo, gives an idea that economy of city is progressive and thus the visitors might be the people who come to city seeking jobs. Some statics on people, who visit the Seaside Vista city keeping golf course or the resort as main center of their trip could have been viable for the argument.

Moreover, there is no trust worthy fact establishing the relation between increasing new business loan applications, and golf course & hotel. The growth in new business might be merely organic. Some business might have been boosted by the new premises of city. But no fact explaining that whole growth was solely based on it is mentioned. The author has neglected other factors that facilitate growth of new business. The city council could have approved low tax policies or some campaign to attract new business in the area might have been going on. Explicitly excluding such contributing factors is missing in the argument.

In addition, increase in tax collection definitely has some contribution from the golf course and resort, but again, argument is susceptible to fact that the aggregate increase cannot be coming from only one source. The mayor has assumed that increased sum of tax is coming from golf course and hotel solely. Instead the banks can be major contributors in increased tax revenue. Or the new business. Some information pointing towards increase in tax to be especially sourced from golf course and resort would have eliminated such uncertainty.

Conclusively, A detailed probe is in demand before taking any significant actions. Given facts, only suggest that same implementation might help Brindleburg to gain more tax and revitalize their infrastructure but are untrustworthy for taking further steps.