A new president of Sartorian which manufactures men’s clothing in a memo predicts that once they resume production of alpaca overcoat, it will be profitable. In this argument this new vice president assumes potential customers would purchase them in Sartorian, and also demands of alpaca overcoats will upsurge. However, the new vice president should vindicate these assumptions before resuming products.

Firstly, the vice president assumes that they should pick up the production of alpaca overcoats because of a new available fabric supplier occurred, which can bring about a success. If the author does not give details to elucidate whether this new fabric supplier is reliable or not, resumption of production might not be a wise choice for Sartorian, and certainly does not make profit then. For example, the new fabric supplier might not deliver good-quality raw material of alpaca overcoats, but down-market and valueless, or it cannot guarantee supplying the wool fabrics can be consistent in the future. Consequently, if the assumption proves untenable because of unreliable fabric suppliers, the resumption of products might be unacceptable, which triggers their failure to make profit.

Secondly, the new vice president also assumes that the demands of customers buying alpaca overcoats would upsurge based on the outcry from customers and on offer for this kind of products from the competitors. However, he or she ought to check why competitors discontinue to produce the similar products and whether the customers might replace it with alternatives to warm up in winters during the past five years. Therefore, it is possible that customers might successfully allot passion into wearing down overcoats or jackets, meaning that they would not choose alpaca overcoats again later on. Also, it easily speculates that the competitors might find out tiding down of enthusiasm for wearing the alpaca overcoats, forcing them to suspend production. Had the author analyzed the reason for these two phenomena, it would have been helpful for Sartorian to determine whether the demands are increasing and whether they should resume production for profit.

Speculating that demands of customers purchasing alpaca overcoats are aggrandizing, the vice president should contemplate the assumption whether they can obtain more profit than ever before. In particular, in recent years, the wholesale price and labor salaries as well as the rental price of factories might be more expensive than before, therefore, Sartonian might invest more, triggering that they might not become profitable than before, but lose money unfortunately. Although demands and the overall increment in clothing prices are rolling up, the cost is a very substantial determinant to decide whether they will have profitability. If these possible scenarios debunk the validity of assumption, restarting to produce the alpaca overcoats might incentivize Sartorian to consider more ahead of time.

In conclusion, it is easily understandable that Sartorian should shoot for profit to the maximum as the priority, however, the new vice president should ponder the assumptions existed in this argument, which might weaken the argument. Only when he or she input more consideration on these assumptions with more testimonies, can the argument might be persuasive.