The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors.

"Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol, and today low-fat products abound in many food stores. Since any of the food products currently marketed by Old Dairy Industries are high in fat and cholesterol, the company's sales are likely to diminish greatly and company profits will no doubt decrease. We therefore advise Old Dairy stockholders to sell their shares, and other investors not to purchase stock in this company."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide wheter the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

In this letter, the author advice to investors that they'd better sell the stock of Old Dairy Industries, which mainly marketed the products containing high fat and cholesterol, due to the recent trend of reducing intake of foods with fats and cholesterol. Although it may seem convincing at first glance, but the deficiency of answers lead me to question the validity of the argument.

First, the author need to answer the question about the soundness of survey. Since the author only provide the proportion of the survey result, not the exact number, the total number of the surveyant may minunte, which possibly bring the conclusion that the survey is not credible. The author should answer the question about the exact number of respondents. Furthermore, since the question in survey is not concerning the real reduction but concerning the only desire to reduce the high fat and cholesterol product, the conclusion of the survey is possibly misuse of the result. Therefore, the author should answer the question about the credibilitiy of survey.

Moreover, the author should answer the question about the background of Old Dairy Industries. Because the only information suggested in this passage is about the product that the company recently mareketed, not the whold product of the company, there may other well-made products except high fat and cholesterol contained products. Even if there are no products without high fat and cholesterol, it is not sound that the profit of the company will decrease by diminishing company's sales. Since the profit is not directly concerned with the total amount of sales, it cannot be predicted without internal financial information of the company. Thus, the author can bolster the argument by answering the question about the background of Old Dairy Industries.

Lastly, question about the stock of Old Dairy Industries should be answered. Price of the stock is determined by multiple factors, not single factors: profit, such as the total financial amount of the company, and even the contribution of the company to its regional community. Therefore, rash prediction of the stock price based on only estimation of the profit variation may be significantly dangerous. In addition, selling of stock immediately may not be profitable for the stockholders. Since the whole argument is based on the people's behavior tendency, it can be changed anytime. It induces the conclusion that the selling of the stock based on non-adamant reason may not bring profit to the stockholder. Therfore, the author should answer to the question about the stock of Old Dairy Industries.

In summary, the argument is unpersuasive because of lack of answer corresponds to the aforementioned questions. In order to bolster the argument, the author should give concrete answers to the questions about the soundness of survey, Old Dairy Industries, and its stock.