The author of this argument states that if a business wants to record higher profit margins then it should hire people who need less than 6 hours of sleep only. This cannot be taken as an argument with a cogent base because the information given are not leading to it.

This study has been conducted for 300 female and male executives in advertising business. However, it does not unveil here the purpose of the study, how questions arranged in this study and under which circumstances the participants answered the questions. If the study was about work life balance of the executives, then they might have answered the study questions with that mindset. Also, executives might have varied sleeping requirements based on their gender, family and living condition which has not been uncovered in this study. Therefore, this study results cannot be used to reach to more specific assumption without knowing the study background.

Closely linked to the study, is the inaccurate assumption that the results of the study can be generalized to all the business. Also, on the study could have been conducted for 300 executives in the same advertising company. Therefore, firstly, it is not an accurate assumption to generalize the study results to all the advertising companies and other business in the country without giving out information about how the sample for the study is selected.

Secondly, the study was done for advertising executives whereas in the argument the result is once again generalized to any business which is not correct because depending on the particular business area the results for this study is likely to vary. For an example, employees in the bank field have different work hours and ethics than an advertising company which run and manage campaign ads. Therefore, it is clear that there is no accurate base for the author to lead the assumption that this study results speak for all the business but rather for advertising companies only.

Thirdly, the study is done for executives which is only a part of the hires in any company. They are usually motivational and goal-driven and wish for maximum productivity in the time they work. But, for rest of the levels in the company like entry-level managers, associates, interns, janitors etc, it will not require to have a less than 6 hours sleep time as a primary qualification to fit into the job. And having such an unjustified pre-requisite for new hires will paint a negative image about the companies among potential job seekers lowering its job demand. Again, it is clear that the author’s assumption here is far from being accurate.

Lastly, it is evident that the author has made several unwarranted assumptions, when reaching to the particular argument that companies should not hire people who are needing more than 6 hours of sleep.