The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the

average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of

sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied,

those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher

profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it

should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the

implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument the author concludes that a business should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night for it to prosper. To justify this conclusion, the author points out that a study among 300 advertising executives shows that those who sleep no more than 6 hours per night have higher profit margins and faster growth. However, the author should evaluate the assumptions to establish the argument strongly.

The author mentions a survey rating 300 male and female advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep every night. Based on this survey, the author unfairly offers an assumption that a business should hire people who only need 6 hours of sleep for a better prospect, which should be evaluated. First, can these 300 executives actually represent all the staffs in the business? Not exactly. It is entirely possible that other employees sleep normally. Even though the executives can represent all the employees in the advertising industry, it is perfunctory to conclude that the data can be representative of all the workers in other industries which may be entirely different from advertising industry. Hence, lacking evidence of a sufficiently representative sample, the author cannot convincingly rely on the study to draw any conclusion whatsoever.

The author also assumes that the business in which the executives sleep no more than 6 hours per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. However, the author falsely establish a causal relationship between the sleep hours of executives and the business’s fast growth as well as high profits. A threshold problem is that it is not the less sleep time that causes the better development. On the contrast, it is highly probable that the deprivation of sleep can be ascribed to the assiduous development of the business. Besides, the reasons why a business is lucrative and grows at a dramatic speed cannot merely be attributed to the less sleep hours of the executives, a myriad of other indispensable factors should be taken into consideration, For example, the staffs are likely to have excellent competence and high efficiency, which can also be conducive to the prospect of business. Therefore, the author should circumspectly evaluate this assumption.

On the basis that the less sleep hours of executives can lead to the better development of the advertising firms, it is still tenuous to conclude that businesses in all industries should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night for the sake of better prospects. As for certain professions, such as doctors and drivers, adequate sleep is of great significance. For instance, if a surgeon doesn’t get enough sleep the prior night, the safety of the patient cannot be warranted during the operation due to the inattentiveness of the surgeon. If the drivers cannot get sufficient sleep per night, the rate of traffic accidents may climb dramatically. Under these scenarios, the author’s assumption is not persuasive.

In a sum, while the conclusion and the whole argument might be plausible, the author should assess the assumptions to substantiate the argument. Had the author considered the possible scenarios to strengthen the assumptions, the argument and the conclusion might have held water.