The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia."Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, f

The twenty-year study on headaches of the citizens of Mentia revealed that the growth of salicylates usage in food production correlated with a steady decline in the average number of headaches. It was concluded that as the food-processing companies implement new possible usages of the above-mentioned chemical, an average citizen of Mentia will suffer a fewer number of headaches. However, scrutiny of this conclusion renders it untenable unless certain evidence is provided.

First of all, it is essential for the evaluation of the argument to know more details regarding the model used in the study. More precisely, the following questions must be answered: 1) how was the data collected?; 2) were the chosen participants representative and what was the number of them?; 3) is the correlation coefficient high enough? It is entirely possible, that the number of participants was small and, therefore, the obtained results cannot be applicable for the whole population of Mentia. Most importantly, we should be provided the correlation coefficient to analyze the soundness of this conclusion.

Secondly, the authors of the study must prove that the decline was not the result of a better environmental state of the city or other changes that could influence people’s health and well-being, such as a state of Mentia’s economy or laws related to labor. We should know how and to what extent all these factors may affect people’s health and have access to the twenty-year statistics.

Finally, in order to bolster the argument, the study must state the number of salicylates in foods and prove that it is significant to impede headaches. For that matter, perhaps processed food contains a neglectable amount of above-mentioned substance and, as a result, has no effect on preventing headaches. Accordingly, without having any proof, no conclusion with a high degree of certainty can be drawn from this study.

In the final analysis, the conclusion presented in the study is unconvincing as it stands since it lacks supporting facts and evidence. To bolster the argument, the authors of the study must provide us with the high level of correlation, a proof that the sample was representative and that other factors did not have any influence on the health of citizens.