'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager’s argument that the late-night news program should return to the former level of time is not entirely logically cogent, because it is not strong requiring more information and weighting.

It was not detailed in memorandum if the complaints from viewers were about late-night news coverage. It is only stated that the complaint were about station’s coverage of weather and local news but it can occur during all television programming not only during late-night news, therefore the connection made by the manager was not efficiently made.

The manager implies that the advertisers cancel their contracts due to the little time devoted to local news and weather, however, it can not effectively endorse this argument. They can have canceled the contracts because the lower audience or financial crises for example.

The viewers that had complained about the coverage of weather and local news could not be the same that watch the late-night news. Hence, the manager’s argument that increasing time in coverage of these matters in late-night news will surely attract more viewers to the program is not plausible. Furthermore, it was not specified what is the former level of time devoted to weather and local news to know if it would be enough or too long time to devote to these matters.

Although devoting time to local news and weather is very important in every television coverage, the manager’s arguments are not completely sound since the supporting sentences are not strong and well related enough.