'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager’s argument that the late-night news program should return to the former level of time is not entirely logically cogent, because it is not strong requiring more information and weighting. It is not explained what is the former level of time devoted to weather and local news to know if it would be enough or a too long time to devote to these matters. If it is a lot of time and the time dedicated to national news would be impaired and other viewers could complain too. Since preferences matters of news change from viewers to viewers.

Furthermore, it was not detailed in memorandum if the complaints from viewers were about late-night news coverage. It is only stated that the complaints were about the station’s coverage of weather and local news but it can occur during all day television programming not only during late-night news, therefore the connection made by the manager was not efficiently made. These viewers who complain may even do not watch the late-night program and being referring just to morning news for example.

The manager implies that the advertisers cancel their contracts due to the little time devoted to local news and weather, however, this argument can not be effectively endorsed. They may have canceled the contracts because of other factors that must be taken in account, for instance, the lower audience of late-night program, financial crises or even just a change in the time of advertisement.

The viewers that had complained about the coverage of weather and local news could not be the same that watch the late-night news. Hence, the manager’s argument that increasing time in coverage of these matters in late-night news will surely attract more viewers to the program is not plausible.

Although devoting time to local news and weather is very important in every television coverage, the manager’s arguments are not completely sound since the supporting sentences are not strong and well related enough.