The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve overall productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the statement, the director argues that all of the employees from Acme Publishing Company should be required to make the easy read course in order to improve productivity. To bolster this, the director cites the achievements by two of the graduates from the course and mentions the cost of the course. however, the argument is tenuous in several aspects.

it is being stated that one graduate from the easy read course is about to read a 500-page report in two hours. however, one might ask that does two hours means this graduate is a fast reader? it is possible that it only took one hour to read the same amount of paper for others who didn’t even take the course. also, the director mentions that another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president within a year. Nevertheless, another question might rise: is there other factors that leads to this change? without concrete evidence, we cannot exclude the possibility that this graduate has some other special skills such as he is a polyglot that makes him stands out from other candidates for the position of vice president.

The director mentions that the faster reading speed will lead to more information absorption in a single workday. Nonetheless, one might argue that productivity is not only depend on the reading speed, there also many other factors that related to an employee’s woking efficiency. it is possible that easy read requires its learners to take a 4 hours course every single day. this might deprived the sleeping time of the employees because they also need to deal with their works from job. without sufficient rest, it is possible that the productivity of the employees will even go down.

it is also mentioned that easy read course would cost five hundred dollars per employee. one question that taken into consideration is that what about the cost of other speed-reading courses? it is possible that other study organizations might only charge two or three hundred dollars per person for their speed reading courses, or they might even offer discount on their price. Moreover, even though faster reading speed can actually improve one’s productivity, another question might be that will the course be useful for everyone? Perhaps some employees might still found speed reading so difficult even after taken the course.

In sum, the director’s argument is logically flawed and the evidence used is also groundless. To strength it, the director should conduct a more comprehensive research about the relationship between reading speed and productivity and should also compare the price and the practicability of courses offered by other study organizations with the one offered by easy read.