"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Recently, the advertising director of Super Screen movies, has shown a concern for the less number of people watching movies produced by them. The director has also provided many supporting statements which might have been a reason for this problem and has suggested, that, increasing the amount of advertising can help overcome this situation. However, the director's arguments are full of flaws like - unattended assumptions, vague terminologies and lack of information, which make it less convincing.

Firstly, the director has stated that during the last year, less people watched Super Screen-produced movies. He has not, however, presented any information about how many movies had Super Screen produced - in comparison to what they had presented in years before last year, or, in comparison to other producers. May be the number of movies produced by Super Screen itself was less and therefore, less people watched these movies.

Secondly, the director has also stated that the percentage of positive reviews has increased in last year, for Super Screen produced movies. However, the term 'percentage of positive reviews' is too vague. It is possible that in years before last year, Super Screen produced movies recieved even bad movies than it did last year. This would make the percentage of positive reviews better for last years than for years before that, but, this clearly does not state that the movies produced last year were actually good.

The director believes that, less number of people watched Super Screen produced movies last year because there was a lack of awareness among people for these movies, and, increasing the advertising budget for next year might be helpful in drawing people towards watching Super Screen produced movies. However, if the quality of movies are bad, people would not watch these movies, even if they are aware of them being produced by Super Screen. People only tend to watch movies which are of good quality and appealing to them. It might be better to invest more money in making good quality cinema rather than advertising.

The director's assertion and their supporting statements are, therefore, full of flaws. The director should instead provide a more detailed study with facts about the status and reviews of movies produced by Super Screen in the past 'few' years and also of movies that were produced by different producers. Also, clearing out how the percentage of positive reviews has increased could help the director in further bolstering their assertion. In addition to this, providing a report of how better advertising of movies have helped increase audience in the past few years would make the assertion of the director more compelling and convincing.