An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument seems flawless and cogent at first glance. However, it is based on an unwarranted assumption that vitamin A is deficient among people in the nation of Tagus, rendering its conclusion, that the best way to solve the problem is to propagate the usage of new type of millet among people, invalid.

Primarily, the argument fails to provide any justification that to what extent the vitamin A deficiency is serious. The argument declares that there is a health issue among people that should be solved but does not state any statistics or survey results to prove the idea. Therefore to strengthen the argument, the author of the passage should answer the question that how the deficiency of vitamin A is identified. In addition, mention the survey or experiment on which the conclusion is drawn and the ratio of the people that are affected by this problem.

Furthermore, the author contends that new types of millet is high in vitamin A without any comparison with other types of food that are vitamin A rich. The argument should answer the question whether millet is the best choice to solve the health issue among people comparing to carrot, sweet potato and other food that are rich in vitamin A. Even then, the argument requires to provide information if spending subsidies on new type of millet is efficient because the same amount of budget can be used to provide vitamin A capsules, in the case that the problem is so acute, or other food richer in vitamin A than millet.

Finally, the argument states that the international development organization and the government act in response to vitamin A deficiency by promoting the new type of millet because it is the staple food in Tagus. Nevertheless, the argument should answer the question how much the other food that are higher in vitamin A are used among people in comparison to millet. Hence, the government can invest on the best and most efficient food to cure the vitamin A deficiency. Additionally, the subsidies mentioned in the argument can even be used to train and advertise the food or tablet that is more useful.

To wrap it up, because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to provide tenable and convincing case that the government can and should improve the usage of millet among people to cure the deficiency of vitamin A.