Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium — substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it may be true that consuming milk and dairy products is not going to prevent bone fraction, but it is going to make the bone fraction even worse, this author’s argument does not make a cogent case for not having a high dairy products diet. It is easy to understand that long-term study of large number of sample group can give us reliable results, but the author needs verifiable evidences to prove his/her claim.

First of all, the author mentions that only having a rich diet in calcium and vitamin D can affect osteoporosis; however, the author does not mention other factors that can affect osteoporosis. For example, our bodies need to get sun to absorb vitamin D to help to absorb more calcium. Another factor which can increase the absorption of calcium is consuming other non-dairy food rich in calcium like broccoli, kale, and beans. These factors help human’s bodies to even absorb more calcium and vitamin D. To strengthen his/her argument, the author should mention about eating habits and sun bath of participants too because it can make a different study result.

Additionally, the author does not talk about genetic and environment which can make a big difference for osteoporosis prevention. Someone who already has a family history of bone fraction is on much higher risk of having bone fractions than other people who do not have any genetic history of this disease. Also, regular exercises can help to slow down the mineral loss in bone, so it will lower the rate of bone loss.

Last but not least, the author does not mention about group gender in the study which can make different perspective of the study. Old women are in much higher risk than men to get osteoporosis because menopause will naturally lower their body estrogen and estrogen deficiency can cause more progressive osteoporosis.

The author can make his/her claims persuasive when he/she gathers information about the gender of study group, their life styles like exercise and food habits, and also genetic history of having osteoporosis. After answering these questions, the author can make such a conclusion.