As per the business manager of a television station, in the past one year, late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. There can be an enormous number of reasons why the late night news program had devoted most of their time in the national news rather than local ones.

There can be a possibility that it was a pre-election year, and all the political parties are going to various cities to give pompous speeches and letting the people know what change they are going to make if they come in power and in return asking people to vote for them. This might be helping the television station in increasing their TRP as well.

As per the manager, during this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with their station's coverage of weather and local news. We don't know the authenticity of the complaints whether it was done by 2-3 people a numerous number of times or whether they were all different people or there can be a possibility that those people who are willing to advertise their products are complaining.There are high chances that during that year, there would not be much happening things in the local area which the station would have cast and in order to stabilize the TRP they would have switched to national news.

Also, we do not know the number of advertising contracts that have been cancelled. There can be a possibility that the television station had very few local business contracts and profuse national level business contracts.

We need to accept the fact that few contracts have been cancelled and therefore in order to attract more local viewers to the program and to avoid loosing any further advertising revenues, we need to devote some time for weather as well as local news.