"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertisin

The author here is making a commensuration between the amount of sleep and to the success of firm of advertising executives. The author has taken up a recent study to prove his point that people who don’t require more than 6 hours sleep, have higher profit margin and faster growth. Though the survey seems convincing, the argument is lacking substantiate and rife with holes due to the following reasons.

Firstly, the author’s recent study of 300 males and females advertising executives hasn’t been mentioned as in how experienced the executives were. The people who required less than 6 hours sleep, might have had better resources and employees at work place for the firm to burgeon, rather than relating to sleep. May be the executives with profitable firms were more perceptive. The author didn’t mention about the working statistics of the firms and alleged that less amount of sleep would result in more profits. The author’s argument would have been cogent, had he mentioned the competent of each employee and the number of employees in their firms which is resulting is greater profit margin.

Moreover, the author’s assumption that employees should get less than 6 hours sleep as that of the executives in a flawed one. Employees of any company work not more than 12 hours at maximum and the amount of rest they take outside the office will not affect the outcome of the firm. May be the employers of the firm with greater profit worked for more hours than that of the firms with less profits. The author could support his study by mentioning the number of hours the employees of each firm worked and also, he could have mentioned what specific type of firms did the executives run, rather than mentioned in wide as advertising executives.

Most importantly, studied have shown that a person is more energetic and works efficiently if they get 7 to 8 hours of sleep. If this study in taken in to consideration, then the whole argument is a flawed one. Additionally, the author stated that the firms whose executives sleep for less than 6 hours had more profits but, he has not mentioned any statistics of proving his point. The author should have mentioned that profit margin between the two firms to strengthen his argument.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is lacking substantiate and is not cogent to come to the conclusion that the firms would burgeon if they hired employees who required less than 6 hours. The argument requires further study of different aspects of the firm and the details of the profits and employees has to be taken to draw any conclusions.