Several recent studies have shown a link between health and stair usage One recently completed study shows that people who live in stairs only apartment buildings that is buildings without elevators live an average of three years longer than do people who

The argument concludes that the residents of stairs only apartments had comparatively better health and longivity than those who were living in houses having elevator. To support his/her claim the author mentions that the daily exercise needed to climb stair as a contributing factor to this situation. However, it is not convincingly evident from the argument that the apparent disparity is only due to this reason. Several alternative explanations can be drawn which may undermine the explanation offered by the author of this argument.

Firstly, the author mentions that elderly residents of buildings with elevator used to make a higher number of visits to doctor. However, this does not necessarily prove the fact that residents of the buildings with elevator were less healthy. Usually buildings wth elevators cost more than the ones which do not have them. So in majority of the cases residents of the buildings with elevator are more financially well off. Due to this fact, the number of visits to doctor can be higher. Keeping in mind that visits to doctor cost a considerable amount of money, this phenomenon could be explained this way. Furthermore, as the residents of the houses with no elevator may have less opportunity to consult doctors regularly due to their financial paucity. Due to their less visits to doctor they may be less cognizant of the complications their health.

Secondly, as the residents of the buildings with elevators are comparatively richer they are more likely to be obese. To their obesity only the mere fact of using stair may not be the contributing factor, other factors which are more important like sedentary lifestyle, food habit and lack of exercise may be construed as the reason for their obesity. Moreover, the residents of the houses with no elevators may be more likely to healthy due to their overall lifestyle. It is possible that a lot of them are employed in jobs which require physical labour. They may have a less calories and fat intake which is the main reason of the diseases like diabetes and heart disease.

Finally, the amount of time people spend in climbing stair is fairly low. It is very much unlikely that this would have a signifant impact on the total health of the residents. Again, the amount of time people spend climbing stairs varies a lot. For example, a person who lives in the 5th floor may need to spend 5 times more time than the people who lives in the ground floor of a building. We cannot conclude anything,only on the basis of the assumption that residents of houses with no elevator spend a significant amount time climbing stairs

In conclusion, the argument is vulnerable to several alternative explantations which may weaken the claim presented by the author. If the author had provided a more detailed evidence with reliable survey /data analysis then the argument would have been much more convincing.