Three years ago, because of flooding at the Western Palean Wildlife Preserve, 100 lions and 100 western gazelles were moved to the East Palean Preserve, an area that is home to most of the same species that are found in the western preserve, though in lar

The excerpt avers that the disappearance of western gazelle is caused by the larger number of predators in the eastern preserve. Several arguments are presented for supporting the assertion but on close analysis one can find that arguments lack evidence.

To begin with, it is mentioned that eastern preserve is home to the most of same species that are found in western preserve, but there is no detail stating that the environment can provide for the western gazelle just same as it was in west. An attribute stating that the East Preserve serves as home for the Eastern Gazelle, which is closely related to western gazelle, is provided. But this information lacks the required proof to draw solid natural relations between the two different species of birds. Further detail on contrast between the two species would have given sound grounds for the argument to stand.

Furthermore, the difference in climate can serve as a substantial and sole reason needed for extinction of any species. However, it is mentioned that the only difference is in the amount of rain that eastern preserve gets. While there is no evidence stating that the species has small or no dependency on amount of rain, slightly low amount of rain could be the reason for their demise. The amount of rain in western region could be the reason for growth of only food that these gazelles consumed or, the amount of humidity in the air that had suited them. Substantiation clarifying that none of the other factors were affected that could prove vital for the survival of species would have made the argument far stronger.

Additionally, much evidence is not provided aiding to the assumption that predators had hunted these gazelle in large numbers. May be the predators in that area, were never able to catch or hunt them. Or, the gazelles mostly kept away from the region where these hunters preyed. Providing solid grounds for these arguments to be trustworthy would have made the prediction that predators took most of the western gazelle a lot substantial.

Conclusively, the lack of evidence renders the assertion doubtful and a further elaboration of factors that affect these gazelles in need.