While the Department of Education in the state of Attra recommends that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The topic is about the homework assignment to the high school students should no more than twice a week, science Marlee district assigns less homework than Sanlee district yet perform better. The argument is flawed for the following reasons.

First of all, the author provides information about two districts in Attra state, that students in the Marlee perform better than Sanlee district, even though Marlee students complete fewer assignments. The author compares a portion to the whole. It might be possible that one or two schools have been surveyed, and the opinion of the author will be flawed if only a certain school performs below the Marlee school. It might be possible that other schools in Sanlee are better than Marlee.

Another reason the author opinion is flawed because it might be a possibility that only some subjects teacher give assignments to the Sanlee students and other teacher does not homework at all. Whereas in Marlee every teacher gives homework, so the students perform overall good. It might also possible that Sanlee state has more school than Marlee, so the percentage of the teacher is higher and the percentage of students complete their high school is lower comparing to the Marklee. It is also possible that other seventy-five percent of teachers in the Marlee give assignment same like Sanlee district. That would weaken the author arguments.

The following argument is based on unwarranted reasons and failed to provide any convincing data that proves less amount of assignment is a key to success for the high school students.