2. To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Although some claim that major cities should be studied in advance to understand their community's important features, this essay will contend that both cities and a society's unique characteristics should be studied at the same time to learn about the society. Cities and their within society is interrelated back and forth, not one being superior in stance to the other.

Admittedly, there are societies that represent its major cities because those societies are eventually located inside each city. Societies where the atmosphere is very hectic due to full of workaholics could be a representative of a city which has such high buildings. For example, a small society in JP Morgan in New York is composed of early-bird workers due to an every early morning meeting with the CEO. To get to acknowledge the society, we could study New York first. Since New York is known to be where people with very busy lifestyle thrives, we could presume that the little society located inside the JP Morgan in New York. Similarly, a student could have been dispelled from his or her school due to bullying or hurting others physically and has to move to another school outside the city. To understand this kind of student's eviction from the school, one could study its city's law regarding school. As discussed above, any feats that a society has could be assumed from studying its city first.

However, logically speaking, each society also has its own unique features that are not related to its cities. The representative example for this is the Indians residing in New Mexico. The Indian society is very firm which is not malleable to the outside of their community. They stick to their own kind of lifestyles; such as clothing or eating habits. If we study New Mexico's major cities, we could acknowledge the fact that it has been affected hugely by Mexico and it is also full of Spanish. So, we could assume that the societies in New Mexico also features that kind of characteristics. However, the Indian society is the very one that does not let those New Mexico features interrupt and change their own style.

Also, if a very specific society is to be mentioned, it is very hard to assume from the city's major characteristics. For instance, a society inside a JP Morgan,in New York, which enjoys playing soccer every day after work is far from New York's atmosphere. If a stranger sees the society, from the outside, playing soccer everyday, that person would presume that the people are enjoying their life to the fullest with no stress. However, that fact is hard to be inferred just by looking at New York.

Therefore, it is logical to say that cities can represent the within societies' characteristics and, simultaneously, a specific kind of society that is far from the cities' main atmosphere should be seen separately from the city. Both ways are admitted to view societies.