All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I disagree that all parents should be required to volunteer their time to their children’s schools for the following reasons.

Allocating time to your ward’s school is completely voluntary. It was perhaps because parents couldn’t find time to educate their children at home they sent their children to schools in the first place! Thus, entrusting teachers to do a job and then contributing your own time to it additionally would be redundant today, where we all are so pressed for time.

Moreover, parents of different children would be engaged in professions which are extremely demanding. It is plausible that their jobs don’t allow them to see their children even at home let alone be volunteering time to school or any other activity. For instance, physicians, investment bankers, IT professionals, business executives are some professions who work around the clock. They would find it difficult to allocate time due to their work schedules. I remember, when I was school, my parents tried hard to not miss any open houses and they often failed.

This leads me to another point, if a certain activity is voluntary then it cannot be made compulsory. For instance, choosing how to spend one’s time is his/ her prerogative. Thus, making it mandatory for all will not really help in spirit. Some parents would really try and be involved in the school work while the other who aren’t interested would take any lead. Such an arrangement wouldn’t necessarily help.

However, I concede that parents, if they are able to devote sometime to forums like parent teacher meetings and open houses will increase the accountability of the school board, amd teachers too, in improving education. With the help of technology, today the parents can be involved with the school and teachers in ways that don’t require physical presence, virtual interaction would suffice. The parents can be connected with the teachers over social media platforms and monitor their child’s progress.

With technology at disposal, I dont think it is necessary for the parents to be volunteer their time to school when they can virtually connect.