The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

Observations into the leadership of many important rulers over time has given us one important idea: best leaders are those who encourage feedback from those whom they lead.

If a leader is secure and confident with who he is, he will be more apt to hear opposing ideas. This in turn, will provide him with an extremely valuable amount of information regarding the viability and effectiveness of his actions. The leader will be able to distinguish good ideas from bad ones before they are implemented. Not after the negative consequences arise. Ultimately, this will allow the individual in charge to have a better understanding and to perform better.

Furthermore, a good leader will create a good morale in the team they lead. By listening to dissenting ideas, the leader will promote a general sense of well being for the group. The subordinates will undoubtedly feel the boss is approachable. Not only will they feel valued, but they will be encouraged to grow and continue their development. Consequently, a good leader foments growth and development which will lead him to be admired and deeply respected.

Conversely, if the situation the leader is embroiled requires him to excercise full power, then the line of reasoning mentioned above may not be the best approach. If this were the case, then a good leader may be one who is ruthless in his approach in order to untangle a difficult situation. Nevertheless, this would only apply to extreme situations such as being in a state of war. Even then, the benefits of the aforementioned approach may be too great to ignore.

Whenever a leader can display actions that enable his team to feel valued, to know their boss is approachable and promotes growth and development, then the leader

will be successful in his endeavors. As a result, this will deem the leader to be observed as one of the best.