The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree

Imposing quota restrictions on household garbage disposal would have several different reactions from populace. Few may like it and others might oppose it. On close analysis we can see that the cons of such implementation precede over the pros. The people might find it problematic for them to limit their wastes as different house holds have different requirements and generate different amount of garbage. This could lead to illegal deposition or collection of waste resulting in increasing unhygienic conditions.

The proper way to curb the overwhelming amounts of waste would be to limit the use of harmful and non-decomposing items and categorize the waste disposal systems. People can be encouraged to keep separate bins for organic waste and plastic waste. This would help in proper decomposition of waste. The organic waste can be used to make fertilizers and the rest can be sent to recycling industries, while a ban over plastic items would ensure less amounts of non-decomposing waste.

One might suggest that imposition of such methods would take a huge amount of effort and will incur costs to government. But the outcomes of such implementations can be used to generate revenues, by selling the fertilizers and recycling of non-decomposing items would decrease the raw material costs to the consumer industries.

In conclusion the idea of limiting the collection of waste from any household would result in a mix response from the public and is likely to fail.