Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In this age of information, determination of what is fact and what is not has become a nontrivial matter. Even though the Internet provides virtually an unlimited amount of information regarding a particular issue, it's not always easy to find out the actual truth regarding it. According to the prompt, one should disregard any factual information provided because of the possibility of the information turning out as inaccurate. I mostly disagree with this claim because of the existence of scientific and historical facts, and somewhat agree with the reason as hypotheses regarding various issues exist.

Scientific facts are information accepted as true after careful observations and experimentations. In the scientific community, a piece of information is only accepted as fact after the aforementioned works are done and a group of similar scientists discusses the matter. Only after such scrutiny, an information can gain the status of being a fact. So, if a scientific fact is provided one must not mistrust it. If Gravity is referred in a discussion as fact and someone does not believe it, he or she just shows himself or herself as benighted. Similarly, any other scientific fact, if provided, must not be mistrusted.

Historical facts are information collected by historians after some events had occurred. It is basically a chronological record of different phenomena. Historians around the world try to collect as much information as possible regarding an event and try to find out the premises and results of that event. Only after demonstrating enough evidence can a historian claim about an event. Information regarding the American Independence War against the British, American Civil War against slavery, the Civil Rights Movement against racial prejudices and so on are facts. These events happened and made their place in history. So, if such information is provided in a discussion, they should not be mistrusted or doubted.

One can say, however, information regarding a particular fact often turns out as false. For example, in the Internet, often people perpetuate contrived information regarding historical figures such as saying Abraham Lincoln exculpated a person engaging in sodomy because of being drunk. Also, people often make up scientific facts or represent a scientific hypothesis as fact such as black holes are black. While such misinformation and fabrication does not have any value and must not be taken seriously, their presence does not undermine the facts behind it and so, those facts must not be discarded as contrived.

With the availability of insurmountable information, it is often hard to discern what is true and what is specious. When presented an information as a fact, one should carefully examine the evidence provided for the support. However, even if the information regarding a fact turns out not to be true, one should not discard the fact itself.