Claim: Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts.Reason: Politicians and other government experts are more informed and thus have better judgment and perspective than do members of the

A democratic government is for the people, of the people and by the people. People elect their representatives who will voice their concerns in the parliament in various bills and legislation. These representatives represent the views of their constituents and their own knowledge for taking decisions on their behalf. The opinion of every citizen cannot be incorporated for every major policy decision. It is the job of the people to vote for the most capable person at the ballot. People should carefully consider the person's attitude, ethics and ideals, principles, ulterior motives and lobbying interests with corporates and make an informed decision before voting for their representative. Every policy decision taken in parliament affects the lives of millions of people in the country. It would not be possible to get an agreement with the majority of the population every time a new policy or bill has to be passed.

Government experts have access to information and background knowledge to the issues they are dealing with for many years. To expect for common people to understand all the intricacies of every policy decision is quixotic. The people in democracies can, however, show their support or dissent for a decision in other ways, by using rallies, protests, online petitions and participating in open debates.

Many major decisions may have to be carried out in a spur of the moment when the consent of every citizen cannot be incorporated. Taking some policy decisions may require confidential information which may be of importance to national security and decades of experience with matters at hand. These decisions are better to be rested with experts and politicians individuals who run our country.

The government also need to consider various factors that would affect different subdivisions of the society and general welfare of everyone by long-term thinking that would be better for the society as a whole in the long-run. In case the decision for major policies are taken by a referendum, there can be disastrous consequences. Brexit has been on of the worst decisions of the United Kingdom which divided the country. The economic losses to the country will be enormous to the country after leaving the European Union. The decision was largely influenced by a campaign of misinformation, distortion of facts, inciting anger and fear of illegal immigrants and propaganda in social media. This shows that the general public can be easily fooled by individuals for their ulterior motives and they are not always capable for understanding every policy matter.

It is therefore important for people to carefully choose their representatives by doing a thorough analysis but not interfere in convoluted issues they apparently have no understanding about. In an idealistic society, it may be possible for the general public to be involved in every policy decision but present scenario does not confirm such a possibility.