Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the posit

As faculty in high education institutes, in some occasions it is unnecessary for them to spend time working outside the professional world they are researching in. Because they are experts, professionals as well as the tutors in their area who will also teach the people who could be professors in the same area in the future. While sometimes they should learn something else besides their majors. I will address my view in three points.

To begin with, I believe the professional faculty should be the expert of their own major at first place. It is significant that they should know this premise clearly. On one hand, they are researching a certain area that nobody in some area else could do even comprehend. For example, you can not let a tutor in film editor major to research Quantum Mechanics, vice versa. So their concentration on the major would be the first productivity of the field. Moreover, on the other hand, their focusing on the studying field will set a good example to the students of his. That is, the professional faculty is not only experts but also teachers in the certain area, if he wonder some major else, he would not teach the major of himself well, their students could not learn well,likewise.

However, there are some majors which require the people studying in to look outside. Due to the rapid development of our society, the technology is evolving in every area at the speed that our predecessor could not imagine. Thus there are more and more inter-discipline courses which need the students who know both of the two or three majors well. So the new condition demands the faculty focus on the other area. Like Artificial Intelligence, there are requirements of students and teachers who can study computer science and anthropology as well as Philosophy sometimes. So here is the condition that the faculty in high education institution should spent time working in some other area, in order to catch up with the trend of the academic development. In addition, as tutors who teach arts especially film area and paint, I believe they should spend some time to feel the life around him as well as outside the environments he live in. Besides learning how to make films, the material of films comes from life instead of classes.

So whether the faculty in high education institutes should work outside the academic world depends on the majors he studying in. For pure science like Math or Chemistry, I believe they should focus on their own majors. While in some inter-discipline majors, it requires both teachers and students to learn something more than the single major. And for arts, this essay works as working outside sometimes is also the requirements of their majors some times like film editing.

In all , I agree with this essay partly.