It is a recommendation to all college and university goers to take up a semester abroad for studies. Such, a system is unequivocally beneficial to students. Not only providing them with much needed social interaction with foreign cultures but also improves their flexibility to work in a different environment. Additionally, the knowledge and experience gained from a foreign university in the same disciple brings in a change of ideology and methodology to approaching domain related problems or concepts.

Slovakia's growth in the past years can be attributed to the universal rule necessitating students to take up at least one semester in foreign lands. Consequently, the exposure and knowledge gained from their semester abroad has helped in developing better social networks for students, to help collaborate on projects with likeminded people, take up on much sought after internships, and possibly landing a job. This created an atmosphere of innovation in Slovakia where each returning individual equipped with new skills and ideas launched various startups to not only help local businesses but also foreign entities. Thus, pursuing a semester abroad not only helped in gaining valuable knowledge but also potential clients or employment.

Concomitant, to the cliché is the meteoric explosion of the social networks of the engaged students. Entering an alien culture to gain knowledge is not only a test of flexibility to work in differing global environments but also an opportunity to build up new and potentially beneficial social cliques. Students usually make new social networks while visiting a foreign university primarily by pursuing routine academics with foreign students and further by collaborating on projects on areas of similar interest. Students in particular pursuing business studies benefit relatively more from spending a semester in foreign lands by not merely gaining friends but also potential business partners, investors, clients or lifelong gurus.

Irrefutably, taking a pause from studies in home country to pursue studies abroad does affect your studies. To name a few obstacles that may hinder your studies is the language barrier and time taken to adjust with your preferences to a foreign land. An equal opposing argument is presented that the entire motive of taking the opportunity to spend a semester abroad is to gain exposure and knowledge and that certainly cannot be done from the comforts of your home. No matter the initial obstacles, one has to face while taking up a semester abroad it is totally worth it.

In conclusion, we can say that the benefits of taking up a semester abroad outweighs the challenges presented by it. Unquestionably providing much needed social interactions, enhancing flexibility to work in foreign cultures, granting the essential exposure and knowledge, presenting with much sought after opportunities for employment and business, getting the much-needed secondary opinion on current practices and meeting lifelong mentors.