Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Communication is very integral part for the success of any organisation. The policy dictates that a routine monitoring for all employee e-mail correspondence will help reduce waste of resources such as time and system capacity, and also protect company from lawsuits. I agree with this policy's stance. However, the implementation of this policy should only be restricted to official e-mail ids and not personal e-mail ids.

When a employee joins any organisation, a disciplined work ethic is expected of him. The employee is expected to carry out his official duties during his office hours. But it is observed that some employees don't focus on their work and tend to cause delay in completion of projects. One of the many reasons for this is the employee is doing some other work not related to office during his work hours. This decision that the company management should routinely monitor all employee e-mail correspondence will definitely help catch hold of people who waste their time on non-work related activities. This decision will help curb the time lost in mailing unimportant or silly things. For example, an employee who sends funny pictures to co-workers can be identified and warned for not repeating this mistake. Thus, it will prove to be a warning for other employees as well. Consequently, all employees will refrain from this activity and collectively save a lot of time for the organisation thus improving it's efficiency.

Secondly, in any organisation, conflicts are sure to arise due to difference in opinions between co-workers or workers between different organisations. It is mandatory for all employee that represents their organisation to communicate with other workers through their official e-mail ids. Thus in case a feud breaks out between co-workers or one tries to supply wrong information to clients for his personal gains can be kept on check. In presence of this monitoring, wrong actions can apprehended before it escalates into a bigger issue thus avoiding loss of resources to the organisation.

Thus, It be can be understood how important this policy will play a role in improving the overall welfare of the organisation and its employees.