Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.Write a response in which you di

The company is a legal entity. Even though anyone is allowed to file a lawsuit against the company, human workers are responsible for the fault. Hence, the statement claims that companies should monitor all employee's email activities. Although it might hold water under some consequences, I mostly disagree with the claim based on the following two consequences.

According to Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs, a sense of security is one of the important factors for determining the employee's productivity. Human is by nature free going, and any spooky behavior from the company can sabotage their creativity. For example, Theranos, which was one of the biggest Silicon Valley hoaxes, had a very strict monitoring routine for all their employees. Slowly, most of the independent as well as creative workers left the company. Therefore, having a strict policy can harm a worker's productivity as well as a company.

Similarly, strict routine monitoring can bridle the fledging employee's learning curb. He might not be aware of the company's terms and conditions, and he might unintentionally email some classified subjects. Although it was not for the wrong reasons, in such cases, he would be more like to be castigated. Hence, following the claim can have a negative consequence of restraining the learning curve.

However, the innovative company's biggest asset is its intellectual property. Any idea is hard to invent than to copy them. For example, one past Tesla employee shared Tesla's code with a Chinese company. Years of research and development invested in a product are shared with a third party. In such cases, it would be reasonable to monitor the employee's email correspondence. If there were a strict policy before it would have made the code base comparatively stronger. Hence, sometimes monitoring the emails can have some positive consequences.

In conclusion, even though the company's employee's ill-doing can destroy a company, strict routine monitoring can make the employers feel insecure as well as curb their learning curb. Therefore, in my opinion, a company should strictly monitor the particular employee's email only if the management suspect some spooky actions.