Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

“Learning and competition: two sides of a coin”. In the world of cupidity, sophistication and desire to make an impact in the chosen field, learning and competition are complementary. However, the prompt asserts the contrasting relationship between competitions for high grades that limits the learning in education. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the prompt and argue that competition for high grades must be the urging factor to reach at pinnacle of learning. The following paragraphs delineate the reasons for my opinion.

To begin with, the field of finance and economics or perhaps the field where the focus is on money, banking and finance, continuous urge to achieve high grade is obligatory since the research shows that students who perform well in academics are likely to become an expert of economics and finance. For instance, Dr. Raghu Rajan consistently performed well in his academics, achieved first rank in undergraduate degree, awarded the President Medal for outstanding academics, top scorer in GRE and highest scorer in his Ph.D. Owing to his desire to achieve high grades, he could learn the nuances of finance and became the person who predicted the world financial crises. Further, Dr. Viral who also was a top scorer in his engineering degree and a topper of GRE and TOEFL substantiated his eager to achieve the highest honor, he was awarded the best student in his Ph.D. Here also, his competition for grades made him the scholar who learned the systemic risk of a banking system. Both these examples show that competition for grades follow the learning. It matters because learning comes after attaining the high grades.

Secondly, the field of management as well requires high grades that can validate the passion of a person to learn changing business environment. For instance, the former CEO of Pepsi, Ms. Indira Nooyi was widely acknowledged as the best student in her academics at bachelor degree to which she vanquished by getting into a best college and achieved a 100 per centile. It was her passion to beat the competition of grades and learn the art of making the Pepsi popular worldwide, which she did and Pepsi became the no.1 soft drinks sold worldwide for a decade. Further, the desire of Mr. Bansal whose willingness to be the topper of a class in bachelor and master degree made him to learn the skills of not only establishing a start-up but make it a unicorn within 2 years. He founded the online store which started to count in the most successful business ventures worldwide. Both these instance translate the competition for grades to a learning in business which in turn formed into a success in business. It is significant because, competition made them to learn.

Thirdly, in the field of sports as well where the contribution of education is considered at minimum, competition for high grades made sport person to learn and beat all odds. For instance, the number 1 badminton player of India, i.e. Ms. Sindhu successfully morphed her desire to be at top in academics to be a top in badminton as well because her father made here to understand how competition for high grade would help her learning to strategies and prioritise its opponents. Further, the great grand wrestler of 19th century, i.e. Mr. Undertaker made himself a legend because of his grades. In his autobiography, he stated that his incessant desire for high grades made him so restless to beat all odds and be at the top of his academic which he pursued and exhibited while in ring wrestling to achieve high score for his moves. Through his grades, he stated that he learnt the art of taking the bull by the horns. Both of these cases prove that even in sports, high grades follow the learning. It is important because sports follow the logic of high grades and learning.

Of course, however, some would argue that high grades erodes the learning by citing some research where a student focus on grades but could not learn anything or perhaps the student who follows success but not excellence has faced hard truth of being ignorant. But, in my opinion, it happens rarely and it also contingent on the focus of the student or the manner in which he is learning. The students who face such situation are those not learning but achieving grades only. But the ultimate learning comes from high grades only. In other words, high grades are independent but learning is dependent on high grades. By and large, high grades translate into learning.