Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Author’s claim that “Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field” holds some merit as amateur person will not able excavate discerning details from the people’s work. In my opinion, author’s claim holds credibility and following are the reasons for my accordance.

Firstly, Consider art’s realm, where through painting, dancing, signing, etc. artists represents his/her point of view. It might happen that amateur fails to understand what artists want to convey and might give wrong judgment. Thus, judgment given by expert should be considered as correct because wrong judgment given by amateur may discourage the artists and impede artist’s growth. Arts is realm, in which, most of people fail to recondite what artist want to represent, general people will able to value arts if experts aid general people to understand arts.

Secondly, there is plethora of examples, where judgment of experts is considered over some amateur. In schools there are various sports, cultural, etc. events, for judging such events experts are called who is properly acquainted with the knowledge in particular field instead of letting teachers judge such events. This example is best examples where people are tendentious towards the critical judgment made by experts. Experts are the persons who have acquired plenary knowledge in specific field and their judgment might actually change the perspective of people related to one’s work. Thus, judgment given by them is taken seriously by people. Consider another example, if any person is sick, will he ask his friends for prescriptions or doctor? Consider another example, if a person wants to decor hi/her house with certain budget, he/she will ask to his/her relatives about which material to be used or decor assistant? These are the examples which determine the behavior of people, who values the judgment made by experts rather than amateur.

For movie ratings, there are numerous websites, which rates the movie in scale of 5. Do people take those rating seriously? No, People will learn the ratings given by movie critics, because movie critics through their knowledge make discerning statements which are convincing enough for people. Statements made by movie critics will change the perspective hold by people about the movie. Thus, It is experts statement that hold importance regarding acknowledging any work.

On wrapping up, experts are the person who is abreast in his/her field and it is expert’s judgment that holds credence for people.