Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and suppo

The educational institutions are very important since they are a place where many brilliant minds will be improved. In these places, students might face moments of doubts about which fields of study they can pursue to have a career of success. In this moment, it’s very important that these institutions use their experience to don’t let students go in paths that they have small chance to succeed.

It’s possible that many people will argue that schools and universities should not interfere in the choices that a student makes for his future. Once there is a decision about what field of study this student decided to take, it should be respected and incentives must be made in order to help this person achieve success. For instance, if someone has a fascination for physics, it’s necessary that educational institutions help this student giving him knowledge and the right incentives to help him to be an outstanding scientist in the future. The idea that a tutor, teacher or professor could dissuade this student from the objective that he want to follow could be observed as something bad, that could undermine someone’s dreams.

However, imagine that an experienced tutor from the institution perceives that this kid doesn’t have good skills with physics. Actually, the student demonstrates much better affinity with other subjects such as arts or humanities. Should the tutor let go the opportunity of this student become great in a certain field just because his pupil decided to follow a different path? Certainly not. It’s a duty from an experienced person that helps the student to try to dissuade a wrong idea about what to study in the future. The educational institutions are useful exactly because it’s a place where the students should be guided to develop his skills. These places cannot give a certain level of freedom to students that can result in an absence of capacity to help pupils in understand what they are good at. In general, pupils are not very experienced and not understand well their capabilities and a school or university should help them is this task too.

Thus, educational institutions should help students in a broad perspective. It’s not only about a transfer of knowledge, it’s also about coach students to make them realize the capabilities that they have. Since they are young, teachers and parents should help them in this task.